AR Loyalty Program for the BILLA Supermarket Chain

Client

Billa Ukraine

Region

Ukraine

Industry

Retail

Client

Ukrainian branch of international supermarket chain BILLA, one of the market-leading retail grocers in Europe, that belongs to the Austrian concern REWE International AG. The company was the first international retail chain to enter the Ukrainian market. At the time of the Singing Farm loyalty program launch, BILLA-Ukraine has grown into a network of 35 supermarkets with a total of 32,500 square meters of floor space. The chain offers up to 12,000 items. BILLA regularly runs loyalty programs, including the ones with augmented reality technology.

Challenge

The client wanted us to create a unique, innovative loyalty program with AR technology. The main project’s objectives were the following:

Solution

Together with the Ugears company, we have developed a unique game. One part of it takes place in the physical world and includes wooden self-assembly toys and a wooden platform to place them on. The other part takes place in the virtual (digital) world, where the collected heroes come to life in a free AR app with karaoke inside.

Ugears, the leading manufacturer of eco-friendly plywood mechanical model kits, carried out the development and production of toys and platforms. As they are made from wood, these toys won’t pollute the environment in the future.

The Live Animations team was fully responsible for the concept of the heroes; terms and conditions of the game; design; digital part; and marketing content development.

The Singing Farm project is a result of the effective joint work of two professional teams.

Target Audience

The program is designed for families with children. Its uniqueness lies in the fact that this family-friendly game can engage multiple generations. It helps to unite the family, motivates to collect the entire set of heroes, improves customer engagement, and builds strong brand-customer attachment.

Game Concept

Real world

Customers can collect a toy set that includes 25 wooden self-assembly toys. Each toy belongs to the Singing Farm. The collection includes a farmer, a couple of buildings, different agricultural equipment, farm animals, and a wooden self-assembly platform (collector). The last one the customers have to buy additionally and after assembling, place all the toys on it. As a result, they get their own mechanical interactive farm. This part of the game facilitates a child’s fine motor development. At the same time, the assembling process is exciting and quite simple, therefore it does not try the kid’s temper and evokes only positive emotions. Naturally, parents get the same positive experience :) A collector’s assembling process is more complicated, time-consuming, and requires an adults’ help. At the same time, the experience comes up to be very exciting. As a result, the retail brand establishes a strong positive emotional connection with the whole family.

Virtual world

Each of the 25 toys can be scanned in the free Singing Farm app. After that, the character of the toy can be viewed in augmented reality and moved to the virtual farm. This part of the loyalty program is mainly aimed at the younger generation. While playing with a virtual farm, a child learns to run a virtual farm business: feed animals, fix equipment, look after the buildings, harvest. For well-timed and correct actions, the player receives virtual currency.

We are proud to note that we were the first in the world to create a loyalty program that includes physical 3D objects (and of such a small size) scanning. Moreover, these toys are completely made of wood and therefore are monochrome, which even more challenges the scanning process. However, in the first days of the program’s launch, some users, especially those with outdated phone models, faced problems with scanning. We, in turn, promptly responded to all complaints to the support service, and the second part of the program had no such issues.

Music Mixer

It is a unique feature of the program. With it, the users can create their own music tracks by mixing the sounds of all inhabitants of the farm directly in the app. Moreover, the user has access to the sounds of only previously scanned characters. Therefore, the more toys there are in the collection, the more interesting the music tracks become. This part of the app engages customers to take part in the program and develops children’s musicality, which, in turn, brings extra parent’s loyalty to the retail brand.

Loyalty Program Terms

It is an instant loyalty program - customers do not need to collect different chips or receipts. For every UAH 139 in a receipt, a customer can at a special price (UAH 2.99) buy a self-assembly toy right at the checkout. The toys are sold in an opaque package so that a customer does not know which character he will get. Also, it is possible to buy a toy separately for UAH 29. The self-assembly mechanical platform (collector) can be bought for UAH 199.

Marketing Support

The Live Animations team was responsible for marketing and content within this program. We provided the following services:

Outcome

Singing Farm program’s financial performance was twice as high as previous similar Billa chain’s loyalty programs. The conversion rate also surpassed all previous retailer’s marketing programs.

The app’s ratings say it all about its quality:

• Google.Play - 4.3;

• AppStore - 4.6.

To Sum Up

Singing Farm has demonstrated the exceptional effectiveness of innovative loyalty programs with the use of augmented reality technology. The following factors contribute to its high economic results:

play

“Поющая Ферма ” Программа лояльности с AR для сети супермаркетов Billa

Client

Billa Украина

Region

Украина

Industry

AR приложения/Ритейл

Украинское подразделение международной сети супермаркетов Billa, одного из крупнейших европейских операторов ритейла, австрийского концерна Rewe International AG. Компания была первой международной сетью ритейла, зашедшей на украинский рынок. На момент запуска программы лояльности “Поющая Ферма” украинский сегмент сети Billa насчитывал 35 супермаркетов с общей торговой площадью в 32 500 кв.м. Ассортимент магазинов насчитывает около 12000 наименований. Billa регулярно проводит программы лояльности, в том числе с применением технологии дополненной реальности

Задача

Заказчик обратился к нам с запросом на создание уникальной, инновационной программы лояльности с элементами AR. Основными задачами Billa были:

Решение

Совместно с компанией Ugears мы создали уникальную игру. Одна ее часть происходит в обычном (физическом) мире, с реальными деревянными игрушками-конструкторами и деревянной платформой для их размещения, а другая в виртуальном (диджитал) мире, где собранные герои оживают в бесплатном мобильном приложении с эффектами дополненной реальности и караоке.
Разработкой и производством деревянных игрушек и платформы занималась компания Ugears - ведущий производитель механических 3Д-пазлов из высококачественной, экологически чистой фанеры. Важно и то, что после использования данные игрушки не будут загрязнять окружающую среду.
За разработку концептов героев, правил и условий игры, дизайна, диджитал части и маркетингового контента полностью отвечала команда Live Animations.
Поющая Ферма - это продукт полученный как результат эффективной совместной деятельности двух профессиональных команд.

Таргетинг

Программа рассчитана на семьи с детьми. Ее уникальность в том, что предлагаемая игра может быть интересна сразу нескольким поколениям семьи. Это помогает сплотить семью, дополнительно мотивирует собрать всю коллекцию героев, повышает вовлеченность покупателей и создает долговременную эмоциональную связь семьи с брендом ритейла.

Концепция игры

Реальный мир

Покупателям предлагается собрать коллекцию из 25 деревянных игрушек-конструкторов. Каждая игрушка - элемент фермы: фермер, фермерские постройки, фермерская техника, фермерские животные. Отдельно можно купить и собрать деревянный конструктор платформу (коллектор), на которой все игрушки размещаются и объединяются в механически работающую игрушечную ферму. Эта часть игры направлена на развитие мелкой моторики у детей. При этом процесс сбора игрушек увлекателен и довольно прост, потому не испытывает терпение малышей и вызывает у них только позитивные эмоции. Естественно, они передаются и родителям:) Сбор коллектора более сложный, длительный, но очень увлекательный процесс. Он требует помощи взрослых. В результате прочная позитивная эмоциональная связь с брендом ритейла устанавливается у всей семьи.

Виртуальный мир

Каждую из 25 игрушек можно отсканировать в бесплатном мобильном приложении “Поющая ферма”. После этого персонажа игрушки можно рассмотреть в дополненной реальности и перенести его на виртуальную ферму. Эта часть программы лояльности в основном рассчитана на младшее поколение. Играя на виртуальной ферме ребенок учится вести собственное хозяйство: кормить животных, чинить технику, следить за постройками, сеять. За своевременные и правильные действия игрок получает виртуальную валюту.
Приятно отметить, что мы первыми в мире сделали программу лояльности в которой сканируются физические 3D-объекты, причем довольно маленького размера. Мало того, данные игрушки полностью сделаны из дерева и поэтому одноцветны, что еще больше усложняет задачу сканирования. Правда, в первые дни после старта программы у пользователей, особенно с устаревшими моделями телефонов, иногда возникали проблемы со сканированием, но мы оперативно реагировали на все обращения в службу поддержки, и начиная со второй половины срока проведения акции подобных сложностей уже не было.

Музыкальный микшер

Уникальная фишка программы. В этой части мобильного приложения пользователь может создавать собственные музыкальные треки миксуя звуки обитателей фермы. При этом пользователю доступны звуки только отсканированных персонажей. Следовательно, чем больше игрушек в коллекции, тем интересней будут музыкальные треки. Эта часть приложения дополнительно стимулирует интерес к программе и развивает музыкальные способности у детей, что, в свою очередь, дополнительно повышает лояльность родителей к бренду ритейла.

Правила продажи игрушек

Данная программа относится к моментальным программам лояльности - покупателям не нужно предварительно собирать фишки или чеки. За каждые 139 грн в чеке прямо на кассе покупатели сети сразу получают возможность, по специальной цене 2.99 грн, приобрести сборную игрушку в непрозрачной упаковке - покупатель не знает какой персонаж попадется ему на этот раз. Также игрушку можно купить отдельно за 29 грн. Сборная механическая платформа(коллектор) тоже продается отдельно за 199 грн.

Информационная поддержка программы

Команда Live Animations взяла на себя всю рекламную и информационную поддержку данной программы. Этот комплекс работ состоял из:

Результаты

Финансовые результаты “Поющей Фермы” оказалась в два раза выше в сравнении с предыдущими подобными программами лояльности в сети Billa. Показатели конверсии также превзошли все ранее проводимые этим ритейлером акции.

Судить о качестве мобильного приложения можно по его рейтингу:
- Google.Play - 4.3
- AppStore - 4.6

Заключение

“Поющая Ферма” продемонстрировала исключительную эффективность инновационных программ лояльности с дополненной реальностью для ритейла. Ее высокие экономические показатели обусловлены сразу несколькими факторами:

Связаться с нами

Заполните форму и мы свяжемся с вами в течении 24 часов!